Stortford hit the ground running with four goals in forty-two minutes, the first coming after just two minutes. An early corner was headed, unchallenged, past Will Henry by Afolabi Akinyemi. Dunstable were allowed no time on the ball to recover from this early setback and Jason Williams, after a cross from the left, doubled the lead after eleven minutes, on the way to his eventual hat-trick.

The hosts’ vulnerability to corners was evident when Williams met the cross with a neat flick after sixteen minutes to make it 3-0. Dunstable rallied to some degree, forcing two successive corners and a fine cross from Ryan Young gave Arel Amu a realistic chance of pulling a goal back, but he shot wide. Stortford came back strongly and after a blocked headed effort, a following shot hit the post and Henry saved from the subsequent effort.

Tyrique Hyde-Skerrit had a good run on goal but Williams’ shot was well saved and when the visitors netted an apparent fourth goal. It was disallowed for a foul. However, a legitimate fourth goal was scored three minutes before the interval when Mark Hughes’ shot took a deflection from Ben Collins.

Although it provided cold comfort, Dunstable’s second-half performance was much improved and not because the visitors eased off. Indeed there were many nervous moments in the Dunstable goal-mouth where fine defending kept out two short range blocked shots. The best chance for the hosts came following a long ball to Ryan Young, whose pass to Saul Williams - who had just Tyler McCarthy to beat but he put the effort wide.

Williams completed his hat-trick, on sixty-nine minutes with the only goal of the second half – but credit goes to the Dunstable team for contesting right to the end with their characteristic willingness and it was indeed a shame that they did not achieve at least one compensatory goal.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram


Dunstable Town Football Club is a members owned football club that is run by the Club Committee

through its annually elected Club Officers, constituting the Chairperson, Treasurer and Secretary.