Dunstable Town have lost their last three games on the bounce, but hope to bring that run to an end against Merthyr Town on Saturday.

The Blues travelled to Leamington FC on Tuesday, losing 1-0 through a rather unfortunate deflected goal.

Dunstable Town boss Tony Fontenelle said: “It is always tough going to away grounds, we were up against a good side at the end of the day.

“We just looked like a team that was slightly low on confidence, we did ok in the first half, but we didn’t fulfil our potential in the second half and conceded a sloppy goal.”

The manager hopes that we can turn things around now, with a slightly better run of fixtures against lower league opponents.

He is also not too disheartened by the manner of our defeats against Leamington, King’s Lynn and Chesham.

Fontenelle said: “We have got a relatively good run of fixtures coming up now and everyone above us has to play each other and someone has to drop points.

“Even though we have gone on this losing run, we are still only three points off the play-off places.

“Am I disappointed how it’s gone over the past three games? It might sound strange, but not really, we know we can do better.”

Dunstable take on Merthyr Town this Saturday, who boast two of the league’s top scorers in Ian Traylor (12 goals) and Ryan Prosser (11 goals).

Fontenelle has been impressed with Merthyr after they started their campaign slowly.

He said: “They will be a massive threat, Merthyr had a difficult start to the season, we played them earlier on in the season and they had six or seven injuries, now they seem to be firing on all cylinders.

“They went to King’s Lynn and beat them 3-2 and they went to Stratford Town on Saturday and won 3-0, knowing the aspirations they have, they are going to want to finish as high in the table as possible.”

Come down to Creasey Park this Saturday to watch us take on Merthyr Town, with a 3:00pm kick-off.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram


Dunstable Town Football Club is a members owned football club that is run by the Club Committee

through its annually elected Club Officers, constituting the Chairperson, Treasurer and Secretary.